A comment on the state of mental health care

What do you think of the state of mental health care in your area?

In Australia, we have access to public hospital mental health acute services, but jack all case management to prevent major episodes of illness. I get Medicare so I don’t have to pay for my psychiatrist visits, but I prefer my gp as he spends more time with me. My psych has to look at his notes during session to remember my name, he asks me what medication I’m on, when I asked him for help with a persistent depression he asked me what I thought was causing it, my transport is broken, I said, he said.. Well then you should get it fixed and you will be all better.

More patients need to become psychiatrists. There is more value in peer support and self help than in professional visits. We all need to stick together and bring light to the subject… Don’t be afraid to talk about your mental health, if we are brave in this way we can help alleviate the stigma attached to being mentally ill. I think that considering the mortality rate of bipolar, we should be given every aid in coming to grips with it. Do not let the doctors fob you off, if you are not getting help from your particular psych, switch. Unfortunately, there are only three choices for me and I’m on my third. And if I had health insurance it would only mean private hospital cover and no other benefits than I have already. Therefore, I believe strong strides in self- management and developing peer support networks is the new way we must pave to survive.

I would love to hear others’ opinions. How do you cope with mental health issues? What can be done to strengthen peer support networks and aid us in living productive, enjoyable lives?

Be well, live long and prosper.
Trudy

Leave a Reply

