Suffocating in Quilt

What was I thinking? The Elf Stars Quilt that I’m making for my daughters birthday (on the 21st August ) is almost unmanageably large for me. It fits her single bed mattress. I am finding it really hard to squeeze my arm in to guide the quilt smoothly, and I am afraid I will not be able to create the intricate quilting patterns I had planned for it. I was going to use my Vincent variegated nylon and the king tut cleopatra to quilt multi heart feathers into the black blocks. I should have done the hearts as embroidery or quilted it in smaller pieces.

Actually, although its a bit tiring, the freemotion part wasn’t as hard as the ditch quilting using the regular presser foot .

I was very happy that I had watchedthese wonderful YouTube tutorials about freemotion quilting. It really made a difference not having rolled the sides of the quilt, just gathering them accordion style to fit through the machine. Mine has such a tiny throat space , the extension table made it look much larger in the shop. I love the machine though. Very reliable. It’s a Singer Stylist 9100 and I got it from HobbySew in Kings Park reduced from $899 RRP to $500. Bargain. It’s two models more advanced than the Janome that I went there to buy, and it’s got a five year warranty. It gave me a bit of schtick in the beginning, you know the getting used to a new machine, but it will sew almost anything and apart from the top tension dial there is nothing you need to do except double check the bobbin hasn’t come unthreaded.

Leave a Reply

